The Bonspiel

The iconic Bonspiel is New Zealand's major tournament in the traditional crampit form of the game. The event is called only when there is sufficient natural ice on an outdoor rink. Oturehua's Idaburn Dam has been the venue since 1932, except for 2015 when Naseby's Centennial Ponds were used.

Two rinks (teams) from each club play 4 games each over 2 days, with the winning club being the one with most wins from their 8 games. Total points scored is used to separate clubs with the same number of wins

Winners of the New Zealand Curling Province Bonspiel

Year  Champion ClubYear  Champion Club
1884Otago Central1942Rough Ridge
1889Otago Central1943Ranfurly
1890Blackstone Hill1945Ranfurly
1891Upper Kyeburn1946Ranfurly
1893Otago Central1947Ranfurly
1894Mt Ida1951Upper Manuherikia
1895Otago Central1952Becks
1897Mt Ida1953Becks
1899Mt Ida1954Upper Manuherikia
1900Mt Ida1955Cambrian
1902Otago Central1959Blackstone Hill
1903Cambrian1963Upper Manuherikia
1906Cambrian1966Blackstone Hill
1908Blackstone Hill1969Kyeburn
1909Blackstone Hill1971Otago Central
1910Blackstone Hill1973Mt Ida
1911Blackstone Hill1975Kyeburn
1913Upper Manuherikia1986Ranfurly (centennial) *
1923Cambrian1991Mt Ida
1931Cambrian2001Dunedin Country
1932Naseby2007Rough Ridge
1933Blackstone Hill2010Alpine
1934Mt Ida2011Poolburn (125th Jubilee) **
1937Blackstone Hill2015Blackstone Hill


* Due to a lack of ice, 1986 was a mini-Bonspiel with each club entering only one team. Although not a Grand Match, the NZCP felt its centennial needed to be celebrated with a Match. The morning conditions at Naseby were suitable, but the ice deteriorated in the afternoon.
** The 125th Jubilee Bonspiel in 2011 was played on artificial ice – 1 outdoor rink (Alexandra) and 3 indoor (Dunedin, Gore, Naseby). Most clubs entered just one team; each team played 7 games.